Thursday, December 31, 2015

Book Review: The Collector by Victoria Scott

13449677
The Collector by Victoria Scott

Anyone who knows anything about me knows that I move me a good Angel vs. Demon situation and that’s pretty much what’s going on in this book.

So, The Collector is all about super mega hottie Dante Walker, a rich kid who died in a car accident and now works for Boss Man (aka Lucifer.) as a Soul Collector, which means he gets people to sin, which earns their soul seals and when you have so many you get collected by Hell and yeah. Fun stuff. Jk. Dante likes this job and he is the best at it!

Dante’s latest assignment from Boss Man is to collect Charlie Cooper’s soul in ten days and if he does so he will get a promotion that earns him a permanent ticket out of Hell. But Charlie is nothing like he expects. She is ugly, with frizzy hair, bad teeth, acne, walks with a limp and has glasses. Charlie is exactly what every guy would ignore for the hotter girls but in the ten days that Dante has to collect her soul he starts to see that it’s what is inside of her that got him this assignment. Charlie has the potential to change the world for the better and Boss Man doesn’t want that to happen. Dante struggles between saving this innocent girl and getting his promotion that will allow him to live normally again.

AHHHH!!!!!! This book was the last book ill read in 2015. Sadface. But it was SO. GOOD. I remember reading about this book early this year around February and thinking “Ooo! I want to read this. It sounds so good!” and I was right. There was so much humor and sass! Like I said at the beginning of this post, I LOVE stories about angels and demons. And if you do then this book is for you!!!

Recommended age:
16+ due to so much foul language.


On to the ratings!

Stars..
0 = None 10 = Tons


THE FEELS:
The feels didn't kick in until the latter half of the book. Dante remembering his family before he died and all. Pretty emotional! And well there’s Charlie and Dante that you can’t help but ship. Do they have a shipname? They need one. Chante? Oh and when that one person died near the end and even though I didn't like them I still felt bad.
6.5/10

Violence:
There were a few punches, a shot or two fired, but nothing really bad. We’ve all seen worse.
4/10

Sexual content:
Lots of kissing and sexual references. Two characters make out on the hood of a car. Lol!
5.5/10

Crude language:
This book was good, don’t get me wrong BUT it was littered with trashy, not-so-classy language that was pretty unnecessary. Every curse word was used multiple times, other than GD. And just my personal opinion but I HIGHLY doubt the ones working for Big Guy (God) would be cursing like the rest of the world.
8/10 (maybe 9)

Other elements/comments:
Underage drinking and so forth.

Overall:
Overall I enjoyed it. I thought Charlie was adorable and Dante was hilarious. I'm a sucker for wit and sass!
8/10

Xoxo

- Sarah

Monday, December 7, 2015

Book Review: Fire in the Woods by Jennifer M. Eaton

22674815

Fire in the Woods by Jennifer M. Eaton.

When an aircraft crashes in the woods near Jess’s home on a military base, Jess’s dream guy falls out of the sky. Literally. But David has secrets and a serious body temperature problem. When she finds him out in the woods, Jess can’t fathom leaving such a cute and injured guy all alone out there, especially since some fugitive is on the loose. Jess sneaks David back to her house hoping to help him, hoping that her overly protective dad isn't home. Jess gets the stranger home, feeds him and keeps him warm but the next morning when she wakes David is gone.

Jess can’t help but wonder what is with this strange guy, he doesn’t seem to know anything about anything and has a striking and eerie resemblance to her favorite actor and he can’t stay warm. Jess isn't dumb and soon puts two and two together that David is the guy the Military is looking for. But why you ask? Well, the guy is an alien. And all he wants is to go home! But the Military doesn’t  care. When David tells Jess his secret, his purple skin had been exposed and he had to confess. With the help of a friend they flee the military base to search for the location there David’s people will come pick him up. And somewhere along the way Jess falls in love, but she can’t truly be with a guy who isn't from her world, not even a human. Plus his people have other plans, destructive plans, for Earth and if these plans are carried out then it will mean the end of the human race. It’s only the bond between David and Jess that can save the planet!


Okay so Fire in the Woods was SO GOOD. I couldn’t stop reading it!

Recommended age:
13+


On to the ratings!

Stars..
0 = None 10 = Tons


THE FEELS:
There are some sweet moments between Jess and David and Jess and her father. Even though Jess and David are from other worlds you just kinda wish they could be together!
4.5/10

Violence:
There were a couple of scenes where there was some fighting. Jess is strung up by her wrists. David kills in order to be free and with Jess.
5/10

Sexual content:
David and Jess share a few kisses.
3/10

Crude language:
At the beginning of the book there were 0 crude words and I loved it! But throughout the rest of the book there were minor curse words used such as, “damn” or “hell”
4/10

Other elements/comments:
I liked the holding back on cursing. Just because its YA doesn’t mean a book needs hard core crude language to be cool or successful.
Overall:

Over all I really liked the story and can’t wait to read book 2 Ashes in the Sky!
8/10

Xoxo,
Sarah

Thursday, December 3, 2015

Haunted: A Short Story by Sarah Jones

Haunted.
A Short Story by Sarah Jones.

“Hey, Jake. It’s me, as always. So, Jessica and I were at the mall today,” I say into my overly outdated phone. I pace the floor and continue talking. 
   
   “We stopped by the little pretzel shop that you and I used to go to every Friday after the football game. Their garlic pretzel bites are still the bomb. I don’t know if anyone even says that anymore. Of course, being there made me think of you. It made me think if how you used to tease me, ‘Molly, if you eat those I am not kissing you,’ you used to say. Ha. Anyway I just had to tell you that…” I pause then just say it. What I want to tell Jake every day for two years now, what I do tell him most days. “I miss you. God, I miss you. I miss it all, what we had, what we could have had, what we were going to have. I so wish our relationship hadn’t ended, not how it did, anyway. I love you, Jake Ford.”
   
   I hang up the phone. The time on the voicemail recorder would have run out in less than a minute anyway. Voicemails. I have been leaving my ex-boyfriend voicemails every few days, sometimes every day, or more, for two years. I talk about anything, my day, how my parents don’t get me, gossip, what I'm learning in school, what colleges I applied for, how I miss us, him. And for two years he hasn’t returned my calls. And he won’t. He never will and I have accepted that. He can’t, because he is dead. Jake Ford, the love of my life from eighth until tenth grade, died in a car crash. Still, it’s a mystery as to why he ran off of the road, over the railing of the bridge, down into the cold, dark water below.
   
   The clock on my teal desk reads 11:47 pm. I take out the Vogue magazine that I purchased earlier and flip to the article on Jennifer Lawrence. That woman is hilarious! And Katniss it a total baddie! How could anyone not like her? I'm halfway through reading the three page feature when my phone rings. It’s a familiar ringtone. Everything by Lifehouse. I freeze. I set that as his ringtone, only him calling makes that song play. My heart flips inside my chest. I get chills. Chills. Chills on top of chills. My heart pounds inside of me. I slowly turn my head and look at my phone, that music once seemed romantic, now it just seems eerie. Splayed on the screen is his name, Jake Ford, with ‘Calling’ under it.
   
   My heart pounds harder. My hand shakes as I reach out for the cell phone. I press the green button and hold the phone to my ear. “Hello?” I say cautiously, holding my breath now. Who would have his phone? It’s been in the same place for two years. His sock drawer in his room. I hear what sounds like breath passing over the microphone. Oh God. “Hello?” I manage to squeak out again. “J-Jake?” I know it can’t be. It’s dumb of me to even ask, he has been dead for years. Dead for years. Dead for years. “Who is this?!” I demand. I don’t give them time to respond.
   
   “Why do you have his phone?! How dare you?” I am almost shouting. Tears burn my eyes. “Who is this?” When I hear the breath again I gasp and stifle a sob. Dial tone. I hang up and toss my phone in front of me onto my pink comforter.
   
   “Oh my God. Oh my God. Oh my God.” I am breathing heavily. I sit on my bed with my head in my hands. I can't stop shaking. Why does it feel like I'm being watched? I'm really wishing my parents were home right about now. The house is too quiet, save for Everything still ringing through my head. It couldn’t have been Jake. He is gone. Departed. Dead. Someone just had his phone. But who? My chills just seem to be growing. A chill sets over me like a blanket of snow, but it’s summer. I grab the phone again, it's freezing. I look up into the mirror that hangs above my desk, something must be seriously wrong with me. My reflection is cloudy. I stand and touch the glass, I gasp. It's covered in ice...  That’s when I hear it.

   My name.
   
   His voice.

   I whip around clutching a pillow that I didn't even know I grabbed. No one is here. No one is in my room and yet I heard him. I heard him. My heart threatens to come out of my chest. Paranoia sets in. I close the curtains and stand in the middle of my room. Suddenly, I have to know. I have to know what is going on. I have to go find whoever is torturing me this way.
   
   Jumping off of my bed, gripping my phone, I run. Running to the only place I know to start. His parents’ house, his house, his room.
   
   Three blocks, six houses on the left, five on the right, one scaled tree and one silently opened window later, I am standing in Jake's old room. Directly above the living room where his parents are watching tv. It is a museum in here, a mausoleum, a tribute, or reminder, sealed and set in stone, frozen this way forever. Forever. Forever. Or maybe not… careful to avoid all the spots in the wooden floor I remember that creak, I walk over to the dresser and pull open the second drawer. It’s still full of his socks. I move a pair over. It’s there, the phone, right where he always left it when he snuck out. I pick it up and press a button, it’s off. If his phone is here, off, cold then who called me? I let out a breath I had been holding. I don't believe in ghosts, I tell myself.
   
   The air behind me shifts, my chills return, colder than before. No, Molly, nothing is there. Just calm down. Inhale, exhale.
   
   “Molly?” he says softly. Almost a whisper. My body tenses.
   
    I swallow the scream that is rising in my throat. I swallow hard. I turn around slowly, death grip on my phone. My heart is a bass drum. My ragged breaths come far too quickly. The moonlight sifting through the open window doesn’t help me see him much but his dark figure looms in the shadow between his bed and the closet, slightly taller than I remember. He steps out into the light.

   
   I intake a sharp breath.






Thanks for reading I hope you enjoyed this little chiller!

Xoxo,
Sarah







Friday, November 27, 2015

Book Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout


Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

When Katy and her mother move to the middle of nowhere in West Virginia, all she wants is a normal life, to get her blog back in order, read some books and just settle into her new microscopic town. But when her mother makes her go introduce herself to the two neighbors who look her age things don’t go as planned. Katy just wants directions to the grocery store but the boy next door, Daemon, answers her knock her jaw drops to the ground. He is tall, ripped and has the most stunning green eyes she has ever seen but when he opens his mouth she realized how much of a total jerk he is! Dee, Daemon’s twin sister on the other hand is also extremely gorgeous but she is the sweetest person on the planet and becomes fast friends with Katy despite her brother’s disapproval.

As Katy gets to know her new neighbors, things seem well, off with them. They get glared at in public, Daemon has a hot//cold attitude towards Katy, he can do things that should be impossible and part of Dee’s body seemed to just…disappear. Katy has heard old rumors about aliens around town but her neighbors couldn’t possibly be aliens, could they? UM, YES. THEY COULD, CAN, ARE! And when Daemon freezes a truck in time to save Katy from being hit he has to confess to being one of the “Luxen” (apparently super-hot aliens who are made out of light.) Now that she knows about them and their powers the information puts Katy in danger, and because of the Luxen power being used to save her the trace of that powers left on her. The trace lights her up like a beacon for the Luxen and their intergalactic enemy, the Arum, (apparently not that hot and made out of darkness) to see. The Arum want nothing more than to seek out and kill the Luxen, and with Katy lit up for all the aliens to see it makes the Arum’s goal that much easier.

Okay, I seriously liked this story! I read it in one day and couldn’t get enough! Also you don’t know who is more life threatening, Ash, the totally jealous ex-girlfriend of Daemon or the shadowy alien terrorists that want to kill them all. Move over Edward and Jacob there are new freaks in town. And they're hotter.

Recommended age:
16+


On to the ratings!

Stars..
0 = None 10 = Tons


THE FEELS:
The feels weren’t thaaaat strong for me, I was never sad or really happy about anything that happened in the book I was just SUPER INTERESTED. But I was shipping Katy and Daemon pretty hard so for that alone I’ll give,
5/10

Violence:
There are a few fight scenes, Katy kills a couple of the bad guys and one drags her around like a ragdoll.
5.5/10

Sexual content:
There is an incredibly steamy make-out session where the characters get topless. One character tries to get Katy drunk to sleep with her and Daemon makes everything into an indirect sexual joke. I wouldn’t recommend a teen under 14 or under reading this.
7/10

Crude language:
The book was LITTERED with bad language, it was the only thing I didn't like about the book. There were several of each imaginable profanity used.
8.5/10

Other elements/comments:
Underage drinking is involved and some pretty jerkish behavior from guys.

Overall:
Overall I enjoyed the story, it was full of sassy wit, which I LOVE! Still could have been just as good without some of the stronger language.
9/10

Xoxo
- Sarah

Sunday, November 22, 2015

Book Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Okay, so this is going to sound like rambling nonsense because it all jumbled together for me in my head, and im having mixed feelings about whether I liked it or not. Haha!

In the first book, Throne of Glass, Celaena, aka Adarlan’s Assassin, has to compete in a competition for the king of Adarlan, who stripped the land of all magic ten years ago. Now that she won and is the king’s champion, Celaena works for and kills whoever he commands her to, except she is secretly not at all following his rules. This book was much better than the first in that it has more action, emotion and magic. Yep magic! There are mentions of the lost princess of a neighboring country called Terrasen where the king murdered all of the royal family, but rumor has it that she is still out there! OOoooOO!! Lol. Also Dorian, the king’s son has been experiencing…..things….*Cough* Magic *Cough* anyway things, as you can imagine, get sticky for Celaena and her friends as one of her closer dies and she has to figure out who she can trust now that her ally is gone. And the whole book leads up to Chaol learning a certain bit of valuable and coincidental information and you see it coming all along but that part in the ending was the best!

Recommended age:
15+


On to the ratings!

Stars..
0 = None 10 = Tons


THE FEELS:
There were moments when I felt the feels, like when Celaena sings a song in mourning the loss of her friend.
5.5/10

Violence:
Celaena brutally murders more than ten people in this book. She flies off and has very little self-control and goes on killing sprees that aren’t even apart of her orders from the king. She kills people and beasts and beheadings occur. Talk of blood and flesh being exposed and leaking from wounds are mentioned.
8/10

Sexual content:
Celaena and one of the men she is close to have a sexual relationship. Mentions of her first time and the experience are present, and although realistic they are a little too much for readers under 13 for sure.
7/10

Crude language:
There are quite a bit of minor curse words used throughout the book. Such as “hell” and “damn”
6.5/10

Other elements/comments:
Celaena gives in to her dark side a lot. She won’t kill for the king but for herself and that’s just insane. She finds pleasure in killing, it is what she is good at and something she doesn’t see as wrong. She seems to have no moral center or remorse for what she does and that is disturbing. Please keep in mind that this is not real and such actions are NOT acceptable in any way!!!!!

Overall:
Overall it was interesting to see how the story unfolded and some parts were clever but I do think that the story is dragging on purposelessly. Maas plays off of too many other stories and it’s really obvious too that she has taken elements from other stories and slipped them into her own. I found that highly annoying and found myself rolling my eyes at things like the green flames, use of the phrase “dear heart” or “stone table” (just to name a few) which are all connected to The Chronicles of Narnia. Or things like named swords and a creature that was described exactly as Gollum from The Lord of the Rings.
6/10
Xoxo

- Sarah

Sunday, November 15, 2015

Book Review: Awaken by Christy Sloat

26248930

Awaken by Christy Sloat

“As much as I’d love to sit by Sawyer’s bedside and eagerly await a cure, I must first travel into the terrifying Dark Woods to stop Raven from stripping me of all that is rightfully mine. I am not only a queen, but a warrior who will fight for her kingdom. Some may die. Blood will be shed. But when this ending comes, I will settle for nothing less than a blissful ever after.” – GoodReads.com

Awaken is the second book in the Slumber Duology. Book one, Slumber was a retelling of Sleeping Beauty with an incredible twist on the beloved classic. Princess Rory had been taken to an asylum where she was accused of brutally murdering her betrothed, Philip. Rory had no memory of doing so but later when her memories were returned she remembered that Philip was not her true love, Sawyer was, a half-Fae buy who worked in her castle. He was kind and loving but when Raven, Maleficent’s minion wounded him a sleeping curse was bestowed upon him to save him from dying.

Awaken picks up months after Slumber left us and flows nicely back into the story. When we find Aurora now, in Awaken her family has been destroyed because of Maleficent and Raven, Aurora is being crowned queen because of losing her father to Maleficent. Raven has fled the land of Ancora and Rory must find her in order to save Sawyer. As the three beloved fairies work to find the cure to Sawyer’s sleeping curse Rory works hard to train and prepare for Raven’s return to Ancora. Rory will have to do something she has been warned about her whole life, go into the Dark Forest in the hope that she will be able to defeat Raven and cure her beloved of his curse!

I was so honored Christy Sloat sent me an ARC of Awaken! So a HUGE thanks to her for that! I LOVED Slumber and had been waiting for this book and it totally lived up to my expectations!


Recommended age:
14+


On to the ratings!

Stars..
0 = None 10 = Tons


THE FEELS:
I must say I was feeling the feels. I waited for this book for months and so wanted Sawrora to be okay! Some characters that I really liked got injured or died and that’s just flat out sad! Also her Coronation wasn’t that long or emotional but, shoot if I didn't tear up thinking that her daddy and beau should have been there! Lol!
8/10

Violence:
There are a few moments that can be considered violent, an axe wielding creep, a beheading, a short battle, you know, the expected fantasy stuff!
 4/10

Sexual content:
Several kisses.
3/10

Crude language:
There are minor curse words used throughout the book and some feel very out of place for the setting and what you’d expect for the fairytale dialect. Words like “damn” “hell” and “ass”
6.5/10

Other elements/comments:
A small hint of homosexuality and the conflict that would Rory murdering Raven and Maleficent making her the same as them both or is she justifiably killing? Could she just capture her and keep her in a giant birdcage to suffer for her crimes instead of wanting to kill?

Overall:
Over all I enjoyed the story! Christy’s writing style is the same in both books giving them really nice fluidity! I love the classic Sleeping beauty theme throughout yet the beauty herself is never asleep! I recommend this Duology to lovers of Throne of Glass and The Hunger Games as it has several female leading characters! #SAWRORA FOREVER! …..and also HUGE thanks to Christy for adding the classic pink and blue bit I asked for! Totally just made my life! J
8/10


To purchase books from Christy Sloat click here!


Xoxo

- Sarah

Sunday, November 8, 2015

Book Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

 

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
So! I was convinced by my awesome friend Neven to read Throne of Glass, it’s her favorite series and she insisted that I give it a go. Before reading this book I had heard SOOO many things about it and all were good! So many people love this series and I see why! The book has hints of all of the classic adventure stories like Narnia, Lord of the Rings and even Oz! It was colorful to say the least!

The story has a TON in it. A lot happens but I don’t know if I’d call it fast pace. So, to not give much away I’ll keep it fairly simple. The main theme is about Celaena Sardothien, an eighteen year-old assassin who is chosen to compete in a contest for the king’s amusement and to become his  champion, (Hunger Games much? Lol!) If Celaena wins this competition she will work for the gross, mean king for four years and then be free. Her criminal charges dropped and she will be free to go far from him and live out a peaceful life. Her freedom is priceless to her and to gain it she is willing to do anything for it! But in the time between she meets several people who she never expected to need to factor into her decision making, like the Captain of the Guard who is dreamy with his warm brown eyes and quietly protective nature, the dashing and flirty prince who is counting on her to win, and the mysterious princess of a neighboring land who she became fast friends with!

Will Celaena win the competition and gain her freedom? Or will she have to flee because of the unexpected and dark turn of events?

#TEAMCHAOL……just saying. 
  

Recommended age:
13+


On to the ratings!

Stars..
0 = None 10 = Tons


THE FEELS:
SO MANY SHIPPING FEELS. I want her with Chaol, no I want her with Dorian. I can’t choose but I totally ship ME with Chaol, *smirks* There were a few times where I just wanted jump in and give characters a hug. But I didn't cry or anything so I’ll give it a,
5.5/10

Violence:
There are a few mentions of blood smeared, splattered or spraying from bodies. Bodies are mauled and shredded in a very gruesome way.
8/10

Sexual content:
There are a few kisses mentioned but nothing too in-depth.
4/10

Crude language:
Curse words are used throughout the book such as, “bitch” “damn” and  “hell”
5/10


Other elements/comments:
Magic, ghosts and cruel rulers are in the book but what’s a fantasy novel without those elements?

Overall:
Over all I am glad I read it, not sure if I am willing to invest the money and time to read the other 5 books plus the novellas but it was a really good book! If you love fantasy this is for you!
8.5/10

Xoxo

- Sarah

Friday, October 30, 2015

Not a Book Review: Bookish Photoshoot

Hey guys! So I haven't posted in a while (so sorry I'm a terrible human being.) 
and I wanted to post a little something different while I am trying to find a book to read and review for you all!

In Honor of The Hunger Games: Mockingjay part 2 coming out in just 
3 weeks (can you even?! I can't!) I thought I would whip out the beloved 
book series and snap a few pictures of them!
Although the weather today was AHH-MAZING there was an intense
mosquito apocalypse out there while I was shooting.
It was like they were in the Hunger Games and I was the cornucopia! YIKES! 
I was bitten 13 times in under 20 minutes. 
(There was most definitely screaming and
waving of the arms like Captain Jack Sparrow...you get the picture, right? It wasn't graceful.) 
Oh the things book lovers do! 
Anyway, I hope you all enjoy this little post and may the odds be ever in your favor!


Mockingjay on some concrete blocks that remind me of
the underground District 13!



Ahhh!! Theyre just so pretty!


This old red(ish) barn on my family's property reminds me of the Seam!
The Perfect place for THG to be hanging out!


Thanks for reading!
XOXO,
Sarah


Saturday, September 12, 2015

The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin


The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin


I must start off by saying that this review will sound like complete random ramblings, it scrambled my brain a bit. This book left me like… “Ugh!” And “huh?” And “Wait but no.” And “ummm.” And “okay, whatever.” And “She is her own grandma?” And “NOAH! BBY!”

In the first book Mara is foggy on all that happened in her accident and is plagued by nightmares, blackouts and an undead stalker. But after finding out what really happened the night the asylum collapsed and that she caused it she now knows that she can do things that most others can’t. But she isn't alone, her super-hot British boyfriend has an ability of his own. The killer and the healer. Cute right?

The hallucinations Mara had been having, of supposedly dead ex-boyfriend Jude, weren’t entirely made up by her mind, no one believes her when she says what she sees and her confessions land her in a messed up mental rehab place where she is followed by the mayhem. The creepiness of book one easily flows to book two as the totally undead ex-boyfriend keeps up the horrific shenanigans and towards the end it all goes from supernatural//paranormal to The Maze Runner’s WICKED//sci-fi. Like…I don’t even know.

All THAT being blabbed I did like and enjoy the book, the flashbacks to the grandmother annoyed me a bit. No one loves a crap ton of flashbacks. After reading a book like this and not having the next one it’s like….umm? Okay, what now? Lol!

Recommended age:
15+



On to the ratings!

Stars..
0 = None 10 = Tons


THE FEELS:
I do feel for Mara, she is highly misunderstood and feels alone, which I think most teens can relate to. I found myself frustrated with her peers, mother and even her brother as they just don’t get it and seem to not care or even consider that Mara may be telling the truth. Also Noah and Daniel are presh <3
4.5/10

Violence:
There are some scenes where Jude causes mental and physical abuse to more than just Mara. Mara is kidnapped and forced to slit her wrists with a box cutter, another girl is found dead in her bed. Noah and Jude fight, Jude harms another girl at the rehab center.
7/10

Sexual content:
More very steamy scenes happen between Mara and Noah. Kissing and cuddling mainly.
7/10

Crude language:
There were profanities used throughout the book including “hell” “shit” the f-word and two religious profanities.
8/10


Other elements/comments:
Like the first book this one deals a lot with mental illness, although Mara isn't exactly “Crazy” she is on loads of drugs and is surrounded by mentally taxing people and occurrences. Also there are a lot of liars.

Overall:
Overall it was a good read. I am interested in knowing what happens in book 3. But I'm still kinda annoyed by the sci-fi turn at the end.
7.5/10

Xoxo
- Sarah

Saturday, September 5, 2015

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin


The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer is about a girl who wakes up in a hospital with no recollection of how she got there. She is told that she is the sole survivor of a fatal accident involving three of her best friends. Shortly after the accident happened Mara’s family decides to move from Rhode Island to Florida to help Mara deal with what she went through and for a fresh start. But it doesn’t help her much, if at all.

Mara still doesn’t remember that night with her friends but keeps having haunting nightmares and starts seeing things that are simply impossible. The only thing that can ease Mara’s mind is the mysterious, British bad-boy, Noah Shaw, who goes to her new ritzy private school. He’s a jerk, he’s a punk and a total HUNK! Noah is the school playboy but Mara starts to see that there might be more to him than she and the rest of the school realizes…

With all that she has been through and the strange things that keep happening to her mind, Mara fears that she will go insane…can she keep it together? READ AND FIND OUT Y’ALL!

This book, and series, has become pretty popular lately. I have mostly only heard good things about it and for me, it lived up to the hype. I have been in a reading and writing slump lately but breezed through this book with ease! NOAH SHAW = NEW BOOK BOYFRIEND. Who doesn’t love a British boy?


Recommended age:
14+



On to the ratings!

Stars..
0 = None 10 = Tons


THE FEELS:
The only real feels I had were related to Mara and her relationship with Noah. Steamy, steamy.
3/10

Violence:
There are a few graphically described deaths, and a couple of fights.
5/10

Sexual content:
Like I said in the FEELS section…STEAMY, STEAMY! Although no one really has sex this book still held its own in the romance department. There are a few kisses, and one character forces Mara to kiss him.
5/10

Crude language:
There were several profanities used such as, “ass” “hell” “piss” the worst being the f-bomb, with various suffixes. No religious profanities. …I've seen worse.
6/10

Other elements/comments:
This book deals a lot with mental illness. Mara struggles to decipher reality from hallucinations and dreams. Keep in mind that this is just a book and if you are seeing dead people it is not normal or either you work in a morgue! <3

But in all seriousness, if you or someone you know is dealing with mental illness or a traumatic experience and are having a hard time coping, please talk to someone or see a doctor. <3

Overall:
I really enjoyed this book and already have book 2 The Evolution of Mara Dyer locked and loaded! If you like anything Paranormal or Supernatural then you'll probably really like this book! The only thing that could have made it a 10 would have been is Noah had awesome black angel wings. lololol
9.5/10

Recommended for lovers of: Pretty Little Liars, Twilight, The Darkest Minds.


Xoxo
- Sarah

Tuesday, August 11, 2015

Book Review: The Lariat by Ashley Dotson

The Lariat by Ashley Dotson

As I am sure you all know by now I am obsessed with Ashley Dotson’s Finding Justus series, and have even been dubbed President of the fan club by the author herself. (Feel free to refer to me as Madam President from now on, no? Okay, fine.) Although I have come to be great friends with Ashley since reading her debut novel, and the first installment in the Finding Justus series, The Beacon, I can promise you when I say her books are breath taking that it is in no way a biased opinion! ;)

In this, the third and final installment of the series (crying because I don’t want it to end. Ever. can we be like Harry potter and have 7 books, 8 movies and a spin off?) we find that there has been a 3 year time hop and Layla is now 21 and in college. After leaving Orrin behind to be with Daisy, Layla has become depressed and drowns her demon in the only thing that can quiet her pain, alcohol. Layla has suffered for years knowing that Orrin chose to stay with and marry another woman instead. She is heartbroken by the fact that she will have to wait a lifetime to have another chance with the man she tied her soul to. Layla is at the point of wanting to end it all to get rid of the pain when she meets Cyrus Williams. She could sense his presence before he even entered the room, she felt a spark when he got near and even touched her. Cyrus was breathtaking and when Layla is with him she starts to feel again. Layla finally might have a change to be happy with this beautiful stranger but now new threats loom over her head as the Beacon and the fate of the world rests on her shoulders. Can Layla bring herself to choose one man? Can she move on from her past? Can she make the right choice when it seems there is no right choice? Find out August, 28TH 2015!!!!

Aahhh! You guys! I have been on a book hang over from this series since February earlier this year. I have even gotten totally hooked on the show Supernatural because of this series (and all the hype, but mainly because I want to be Layla. Duh.) I was totally honored to get to read this manuscript early and even help with the cover. I, and Ashley I am sure, can’t wait for you all to be able to read this! If you, like me, loved The Beacon and The Porter then you will LOVE LOVE LOVEEEE The Lariat! It won’t disappoint!

Recommended age:
15+



On to the ratings!

Stars..
0 = None 10 = Tons


THE FEELS:
There were a couple of moments when I felt the love and feels. There are moments with Layla and her mother that were touching for me, and also lots of yummy moments with some guy that I won’t name for the sake of not spoiling anything!
6/10

Violence:
There were a few moments that were very cringe worthy. There are some moments that may seem gruesome to some younger readers. But for those like me who like a little gore and fright it’s not too much.
6.5/10

Sexual content:
There are a few kissing scenes and scenes where Layla is in bed with a guy but nothing is graphically described.
5/10

Crude language:
There are minor profanities used throughout the book such as, “hell” “damn” and so on, keep in mind this is a book about demons and angels so those two words are used a lot referring to Hell, the place and Damnation.
6/10

Other elements/comments:
Layla drinks a lot in the beginning of the book, there are scenes where Layla is less than self-respecting.

Overall:
Over all I enjoyed the book. It was a really powerful ending to a great series. Now go buy The Beacon and The Porter before the 28th!
9/10

YOU CAN FIND ASHLEY'S BOOKS HERE! > Amazon.com/AshleyDotsonBooks

Xoxo

- Sarah

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Book Review: Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepherd



Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepherd

After becoming a fan of the ABC Family hit show I started snooping around online, reading about the books, I was intrigued when I read that the show and books were so different. Not being able to get enough of PLL when my season I was on ended, I purchased the first ebook and loved it! It was like watching the show in my mind but just from a different perspective!

As we probably all know by now, Pretty Little Liars is about five friends who split up after the group leader mysteriously dissappears. It's been over 2 years since Ali has gone missing and the girls are trying to move on with their lives but can't seem to stop thinking about Ali when they begin to receive haunting messages from someone known as "A". Messages about things they only told their long lost, supposedly dead friend, Alison Dilaurentis. Could she be taunting them from the grave? Could someone else known their secrets? Or could Ali be back?


Suggested Age.
15+

THE FEELS: There weren't any sad or overly joyful moments but I found myself interested to see how certain relationships would pan out.
3/10

Sexual content : There are some kisses, one of the girls wants to have sex with her boyfriend who refuses for religious reasons. Another has a secret relationship with a teacher, yet another girl steals her sister's boyfriend and the other has feelings for a girl.
5.5/10

Profanities: There are some pretty strong words used throughout the book for young readers under 16 it maybe too much. A few of most "curse" words each.
8/10

Violence: There are some things that girls say that are hurtful to each other. Emotional bullying.
6/10

 Overall: Over all I liked it and couldn't put it down. As an adult it wasn't too bad but younger teens probably shouldn't read this series.
7.5/10

Thanks for reading!
Xoxo,
Sarah

Wednesday, June 24, 2015

AskSeekKnock Interviews: Christy Sloat


AskSeekKnock Interviews!

Hey guys!

So! This my very first author interview and I am so stoked to have gotten the chance to speak with author Christy Sloat (Slumber, The Past Lives Series, and Who We Were) Maybe you know her from her debut paranormal series, The Past Lives series or from her latest fantasy/retelling, Slumber! Either way she has become one of my favorites and is sure to become the same for you!

So! Let’s get right to it!

Sarah: Okay so I'm a big fan of your latest work, Slumber. It is such a cool new take on an old familiar story, what did your writing process with that story look like? Did a character pop into your mind first or maybe the plot?

Christy:
PictureI always knew I was going to write a story on Aurora but I wasn't sure how. I was writing another book when Slumber came to me. I fleshed out the details in a day or two and Slumber was born. When I started writing Slumber an idea came to mind for Who We Were so I had to set Slumber aside for a bit. I'm glad that happened because ad's for Maleficent started coming on the TV. I waited until I saw Maleficent before I wrote the rest of Slumber. I didn't want it to be the same plot or be confused. I'm happy to say it's not the same.


Sarah: What 2 actors would you like to see as Rory and Sawyer in a Hollywood adaption of Slumber?

Christy: Oh, this is something I've thought about in detail. I would definitely request Brit Robertson for Rory and Kit Harrington for Sawyer. Every time I see Kit play Jon Snow, I see Sawyer. He just makes a good match for him; he's so hot.

Sarah: SUPER good choices!!! Kit is a hunk!


Sarah: If you weren’t a writer, what would you be doing?

Christy: I'd be working in the school district. I love working with kids.


Sarah: What book do you wish you could have written?

Christy: Hmm. That is a very challenging question. Probably either Twilight or Harry Potter. They're both genius and have really defined YA as a genre. Both authors are heroines in the YA community.

Sarah: So true. I can’t imagine how YA would have turned out without them both!


PictureSarah: What can you tell me about your current writing project/s? I have seen that you're working on the second book in the Slumber Duology, and I have seen hints to another possible retelling!

Christy: Yes, I'm writing Slumber's second book in the duology, Awaken. I love returning to Rory's world. I can tell you that it's going well and that you won’t see as much Sawyer in the beginning. *sad face*

Sarah: Extra sad face!!!

But Rory gets some pretty kick-butt scenes that make up for all of that. We also get to meet some new characters that I'm really excited about. This world has been very fun for me to create.
After Awaken I have a new project in the works. Once I have all the ideas out and on paper I'll give you some more information. I promise.

Sarah: EEEP! That all is so exciting! #Fangirling


PictureSarah: Which of your own book characters would you say is most like yourself?

Christy: I think they are all a bit like me since I created them. It's hard not to put a little bit of your own personality into your characters. But if I had to choose just one, I think I'd say Brylee from my Visitors Series. She is so much like me it's scary. 

Sarah: Love it! I need to check out the Visitor’s series SOON!


Sarah: Do you have any writing advice or marketing tips you can share that have been most helpful to you?

Christy: My advice for writing is this; get some notebooks and fill it up with ideas. When your ideas are looking like a pretty darn good book, write it. Once it's written get a REALLY good editor. Make it shine.
My advice for marketing; make friends online and be yourself.
I honestly am still having a hard time with marketing and authors are all on their own when it comes to that. Our publishers don't help us with that, no matter who publishes you.


Now for a few random/silly questions!!

Sarah: If you were a superhero, what would your power and name be?

Christy: Oh, how fun! Okay, my power would be to invisible on demand and my name would be Crystal Clear.

Sarah: Hahaha! Yes! Love that!  


Sarah: Divergent or The Hunger Games?

Christy: Divergent. No contest. I do love Katniss but dang, Roth can really write a good book.

Sarah: She soo can! I wish she would put out more work!


Sarah: What was the last movie you watched?

Christy: I've watched a lot of kid movies with my kids, so let's not count those. The last grown-up movie I saw was Fifty Shades of Grey and it was awesome. I was so heartbroken at the end and I totally knew it was coming. That's the beauty of a well made movie.

Sarah: Oooo! Too funny!

Sarah: Thank you SO much for taking the time to chat with me!
Is there anything else you want to add?

Christy: I adore you and thank you for asking me to do an interview.


You all can read about and purchase Christy's books through the links below!

Christy Sloat

To see my review of Christy's Slumber click here -> Slumber Book Review

To purchase Christy's books from amazon click here > Amazon.com/ChristySloatBooks

Thank you so much for reading!
Xoxo,
Sarah