Sunday, August 7, 2016

Book Review: Nil by Lynne Matson



Nil by Lynne Matson

I met Lynne at a small book signing in Charleston, SC last year. She was super nice and I thought Nil seemed right up my alley. So, I got Nil, Lynne signed it and it’s been on my shelf unread for a year. #rude right? But recently Nil went on sale in the google playstore so I bought a second, digital, copy!
Nil, in my opinion is a perfect mix between Survivor, The Maze Runner and a little dash of Swiss Family Robinson. Nil is an island where teens get randomly transported to from all over the world through “gates” Gates are shimmering portals which travel along the Earth in patterns, dropping people and animals in Nil. Gates are also you're only ticket off of the island and catching one isn't easy. Nil makes life hard. She is host to lions, bear, boars, and all sorts of other dangerous entities. Oh, and once you land on Nil, you’d better start counting days because if you don’t catch an outbound gate back off of Nil within one year, you die.

Nil focuses around Charley and Thad. Two totally hot teens with promising futures who struggle with finding meaning in life and with why they are on Nil. Thad is the first person Charley meets on Nil, after waking up alone, naked and spending an awful twelve days on the mysterious island. She and Thad click right away and he knows a lot more about the island than she does. They quickly fall for one another and make a great team but Charley learns that Thad is running out of time and they have to figure out a way to beat Nil at her own game.

I freaking loved this book! I had been wanting to read another dystopian book and although there was no corrupt government involved, Nil did the trick for me. Lynne is such a talented writer. Her world building was great and her characters were very realistic!

Recommended age:
15+


On to the ratings!

Stars..
0 = None 10 = Tons


THE FEELS:
This book was full of feels. The happy and sad kind. Thad and Charley are the cutest couple. I found myself routing for them and hoping nothing would come between them. There were a couple of other couples on Nil as well who I wanted happy endings as well. There were several deaths which was sad, knowing they never made it home was disappointing and who am I kidding I love a good death in a book!
7/10

Violence:
There as one moment that stuck out to me as violent, when an animal attacked one of the teens and it got petty bloody.
4/10

Sexual content:
Charley and Thad kiss a lot and talk about going further but the potential consequences held them back from taking the next step, they ultimately decide not to have sex until they can get back home, if they get back home.
4/10

Crude language:
Minor profanities were used throughout. There was one kid in particular who dropped at least five f-bombs and others replayed him with the same.
7.5/10

Other elements/comments:
The mention of bare breasts is made several times as a lot of the kids arrive to Nil totally nude.

Overall:
Overall I really loved this book. I was so overdue for a book with good dystopian vibes and this totally settled that. There are two other books after this one which leaves a crap load of room for more Nil, Charley and Thad!
8/10

Xoxo
- Sarah

Friday, June 17, 2016

Something Extra Special! Book Review: The Keplar Project by Sarah Jones


Hey all! Today I have something EXTRA special for you! Its a book review of MY book, The Keplar Project reviewed by my lovely friend Bridget from over at bridgetreadsbooks.wordpress.com!! 

A couple of months ago I asked Bridget if she would beta read for me and give me her opinion on my book and when she said yes I was so stoked! Bridget has been so so helpful on my writing journey and is the very first blogger to review my book! So! In celebration I am re-posting her sweet review below!


Be sure to go check out Bridget's blog and her insta!

The Keplar Project: More than a review




image
Note: This cover is not final and is subject to change.

Title: The Keplar Project
Author: Sarah Jones
Publish Date/Publisher: N/A
Format: Manuscript /sent via author/
Genre: YA
Before you read my review, make sure to check out Sarah on all of her social media!



image
Note: This synopsis is not final and is subject to change.

How far are you willing to go to protect the ones you love?
For Sariah Kent, the ends of the Earth are just the beginning.
The Commander is cruel, he has made the Republic of Prospect a living Hell and now he wants more. More power, more land, a planet of his own to dictate. But in order to do that he needs lab rats, human ones, to test out the most promising planet his scientists know of, to see if this planet is survivable… and who better to do that than criminals?
When Sariah Kent and her two best friends are caught for vandalizing the Commander’s home there is a price to pay. She knows that her options are few and that a public hanging at the Gallows awaits her. Sariah isn’t one to beg or put up a fight and has accepted her fate but when the Commander proposes an ultimatum the three friends are faced with a problem bigger, worse, than the Gallows. The Commander tells Sariah and her friends they can either live on death row for five years, or take the place of the citizens who were chosen to participate in an experiment, the Keplar Project. A project which involves banishment to the foreign planet, Keplar-518e. When Sariah sees her little sister’s name on the list of citizens chosen to participate, she and her friends have to make a choice. Choose to have the extra five years, or go in the place of their family members to a planet where they may die in minutes.
FIVE OUT OF FIVE STARS! (Star Icon Images not uploading.)
I was so excited when I started beta reading The Keplar Project (TKP). The whole idea of new planets and adventure really appealed to me. Although I was a beta for TKP, I still connected to the story as a reader.
I read TKP a total of three times and each time only made me love the story more.
All of the characters were so unique, each bringing something to the story, whether it was a small joke, a big smile, or an evil laugh, TKP was erupting with liveliness. The multiple POVs really kept the plot moving fast and were always such a great insight on the characters.
Sarah’s writing was smooth and never left me confused. The plot line was so detailed and well thought out, really making the story speak. Each scene was perfectly formed into a beautiful world that I couldn’t get enough of. I often found myself getting lost in the beautiful words of The Keplar Project.
The Keplar Project by Sarah Jones has such great potential and I cannot wait to hear of its future success!
THE CHARACTERS AND MY THOUGHTS
While searching Sarah’s blog for every detail I could find about The Keplar Project, I came across character descriptions for some of the main characters. So below, you will find a description of some of the characters (all descriptions from Sarah’s blog,) pictures from Google based off Sarah’s description, and my thoughts on those characters!


image
Sariah Kent



Sarah’s Description:
“Dirty blonde hair and brown eyes. Medium height. She is the type of girl who rolls with the punches. Some might say she is a leader type, others might say she is reckless. Crime: Vandalism…and a few other things..oops!”
My thoughts:
Sariah was such a strong-willed main character who was determined right from the start. She never left me bored, always keeping the story entertaining and open. Sariah was good to others and never wavered in personality. Although she could use some more character development, she was nearly a “perfect” main heroine.


image
Taaria Kent


Sarah’s Description:
“Dirty blonde hair and brown eyes. She is a Keplar Project sibling. Little sister to Sariah. Her personality is spunky and ambitious. She loves her older sisters more than anything!”
My thoughts:
Taaria was such a loving character towards her family. She was very determined (much like her sister) and very open. I would love to know more about Taaria, and feel more of her voice would be great in the plot.

image
Nixon McCoy

Sarah’s Description:
“Black hair which curls at the tips and Jensen Ackles green eyes! Mysterious personality. Observant. Crime: unknown. (of course I know what it is! lololol)”
My thoughts:
Nixon (Nix) may sound like the generic “broken inside” character, but he was the opposite. He was mysterious, yet open. Observant, yet ignorant. Quiet, yet loud. You get to know so much about him through a couple chapters.


image
Luke Cramer

Sarah’s Description:
“Tall, Brown hair and eyes. Snarky personality. Some would call him the class clown, others would say he is a pest. Crime: Contempt and Disorderly Conduct.”
My thoughts:
Luke was amazing. He was funny, keeping the plot light-hearted. Almost as mysterious and Nixon, he left me thinking on his ordeal and his thoughts.
WHAT? A SONG?
So, as above I mentioned I basically stalked Sarah’s blog. Well, I found that she wrote a song for one of Sariah’s older sisters, Seera. Seera’s song is absolutely beautiful and I can’t get enough of it, so let’s enjoy it together!!
“Seera’s Song (Written by me, so ya can’t listen because it’s not an audible thing.)”
All my sister’s
With all their bright lights
All my sister’s
They’re shining so bright
All my sister’s
With all their brown eyes
The space ship takes flight
Away into the night
We’re on our way now
We’re on our way now
My head is on your shoulder
We’re growing much older
And when we get there I’ll be 23
All my sister’s
With all their bright lights
All my sister’s
They’re shining so bright
All my sister’s
With all their brown eyes
we will reunite.
Five out of five stars to The Keplar Project by Sarah Jones!
Drawing (3)

Thank you for reading and sharing in the excitement with me!
CAN WE JUST TAKE A MOMENT TO DROOL OVER BRIDGET'S MODEL FOR LUKE? MKAY.
xoxo, Sarah!

Monday, May 30, 2016

Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

I had heard SO. MANY. good things about ACOTAR and it lived up to them all.

This book was supposed to be a Beauty and the Beast retelling and while it had certain similar elements and parallels, like a girl, captured by a cursed royal, roses, and a giant library, (because we all know that’s the best part about Beauty and the Beast. That library is lust-worthy.) it, to me, wasn’t much of a retelling.

The story is about Feyre, a nineteen year-old girl struggling to provide for her family. When Feyre kills a faerie, disguised as a wolf a beast called Tamlin comes to claim her, a life for a life. He allows her to live with him in the dangerous land of Pyrthian, where the faeries live. All of her life, Feyre has heard horrific tales of deadly faeries who live there and now she is to be captive in the land. But let’s be honest because even the back of the book says it, some Stockholm syndrome happens and Feyre finds herself in a sticky situation where she has major feelings for Tamlin. And pft. Who wouldn’t? He’s apparently a hunk. As time goes on Feyre learns of a darkness that is talking over the faerie lands, cursing Tamlin’s people and as fate would have it, she is the only one who free the lands and her beloved Tamlin.

Mkay, enough of that, I need to gush//rant. I. LOVED. THIS. BOOK. This book is one of my new favorites. It’s beautifully written, romantic and CAN I JUST LIVE IN THE SPRING COURT? (Even though I literally hate real spring….I’m more of an Autumn gal myself.) But seriously, this place sounds immensely beautiful and as a painter, like Feyre, I want to paint every scene from Spring Court. The way Sarah describes the scenery is effortless and she makes it so easy to picture in my head. I can relate BIGTIME to Feyre’s need to catalog colors in her mind and just the way she takes in scenery, thinking about ways she can paint it later, the way she sees things through an artist’s eye is so me. This book sounds like Narnia’s long lost cousin. And for me to say that is saying A LOT because Narnia is my all-time favorite anything. This book will forever be on my favorites list and I will most certainly be painting something inspired by this book soon. Like….probably later today soon.

Recommended age:
14+


On to the ratings!

Stars..
0 = None 10 = Tons


THE FEELS:
This book has a good many feels, I’d say. From the interesting sisterly relationships to the way Feyre loves Tamlin, to the way characters regret the past and consequences.
6/10

Violence:
There is a good bit of violence which at this point doesn’t bother me. I've watched and read a lot of pretty gnarly stuff. But there are a lot of bloody scenes, including a couple severed heads, stabbings and protruding bones from body parts.
8/10

Sexual content:
There are several very steamy moments. Very passionate, almost New Adult sex scenes that are preeettttyy detailed. Not good for kids under at least 13. So for what I have read of YA I'm giving a pretty high score in this section.
8.5/10

Crude language:
Surprisingly, the crude language wasn’t nearly as bad as I expected form Sarah. The worse of the profanities were minor curse words. Words like “bitch” “bastard” and “damn” are used frequently.
5/10

Other elements/comments:
This book deals a lot with guilt, consequences, and lies. There is a reason behind all actions, however poorly made they may be but in the end those poor decisions came at a cost.

Overall:
Overall it’s safe to say that I loved this book and I can’t wait to dive into book 2!
10/10

Xoxo

- Sarah

Thursday, April 7, 2016

Writing // Reading // Reviewing Updates.

Reading and Reviewing Update.
As of late, I have not been doing a lot of reading. And there are several reasons for this monstrosity. First being that I have been really stressed out lately, adulting is hard. Especially when you don't have a job and live in an area where there aren't many job opportunities. I'm looking for a job currently and I haven't been very motivated to read. That doesn't at all mean that I will stop reading, listening to books and reviewing them. The no job thing leads me to my second reason, money prioritizing. No money = no new books. Lol. The third reason for this reading slump is that (in all honesty) my eyes are bad. #OldPeopleProbs I probably need to wear my glasses. Reading for more than a page or two really strains my eyes and causes severe migraines. Even when I do wear glasses. SO. LAME. Like what even? 

Due to the previous statements reviewing has slacked. And I don't like that at all! As soon as I read something interesting enough I'll review it! Promise! 

BUT with all of this said, I have a big TBR (To Be Read) list and I want to finish it up! High up on that list are Riders by Veronica Rossi and Passenger by Alex Bracken.

Writing Update!

My current writing project is the same as the last time I mentioned it Here! Currently it is just over 44,200 words, which by some standards bumps it up onto the fantastic category of Novels! Right now I am working on my third draft and I don't expect that it will be the last draft. I still plan on traditionally publishing if I can. I am on the fence about self-publishing. If you don't know or need a recap of what my book will be about keep reading for a very brief synopsis and character descriptions! 

Short Synopsis:

When Sariah Kent and her two best friends are caught vandalizing the Commander's home they are given the ultimatum, death row and a public hanging or exile to a foreign planet along with three other criminals.


Main Character Descriptions:

Sariah Kent: (Pronounced like Aria but with an S on the front!) Dirty blonde hair and brown eyes. Medium height. She is the type of girl who rolls with the punches. Some might say she is a leader type, others might say she is reckless. Crime: Vandalism...and a few other things..oops!

Taaria Kent: (Pronounced like Aria but with a T on the front!) Dirty blonde hair and brown eyes. She is a Keplar Project sibling. Little sister to Sariah. Her personality is spunky and ambitious. She loves her older sisters more than anything!

Nixon McCoy: Black hair which curls at the tips and Jensen Ackles green eyes! Mysterious personality. Observant. Crime: unknown. (of course I know what it is! lololol)

Luke Cramer: Tall, Brown hair and eyes. Snarky personality. Some would call him the class clown, others would say he is a pest. Crime: Contempt and Disorderly Conduct



This story is fictional, yes but is inspired a real place! Nasa's very own Kepler-186f! I have tried multiple times to get in touch with someone there about copyright information on using the planet's real name in my work but unfortunately never got a response from Nasa. Hence my planet's name change. This honestly breaks my heart not being able to use the actual planet name. I wanted a novel that was dystopian // sci-fi but actually plausible. A real, tangible planet that exists out there. I wanted a space boot that has a real setting other than Mars. But after a process of thinking and praying about it I have settled, reluctantly, on Keplar-518e. (Pronunciation: Kep-lar + Five Eighteen E)  Yeah, yeah I know it's really similar to the original name, and I wanted it that way so that it would still seem like a plausible, familiar planet! I have done A LOT of research on Kepler-186f and something I want my future readers to know is that there is a planet out there that could very well be EXACTLY like the one in my story, Keplar-518e! 


I don't know how long it will be before this is a physical or even digital book which will be out there because I don't right now, have any reliable creative//critique partners to work with and bounce ideas off of. I have had some really great help so far but its a busy time of year and I'm going at this pretty much alone. This round of editing is all about details, be it punctuation, plot related or conflicting points. I am hopeful that whenever I do get it finished that it will be out there in some format and you all will be able to read my work!

That's all for now! Thanks for reading!
xoxo,
Sarah!






Saturday, March 19, 2016

Book Review: The Haunting of Sunshine Girl by Paige McKenzie

21413855

The Haunting of Sunshine Girl by Paige McKenzie

The Haunting of Sunshine Girl was EXACTLY what I hoped it would be! Creepy, cute, and really interesting!

When sixteen year-old Sunshine and her mother move to Washington from Texas, Sunshine is wrapped in a chill she can’t shake. Their new house is creepy, old and her new room is blindingly pink. But that’s not what makes the place so eerie, it’s the moving board games in her room, the giggling of a little girl, who is nowhere to be found, the shadows in her photos and the smell of mildew that gets under Sunshine’s skin. And the fact that her mom doesn’t believe her is stranger than the invisible little girl who is trying to play checkers with her. As the giggles turn into screams and Sunshine has the deep urge to help the little girl, she has to come to terms with the fact that she is different, she is something else entirely and it’s up to her to save those she loves from a darker force that’s at play in her home.

Okay, so I LOVED this book. It was the right amount of creepiness and real enough to be believable, even! Sunshine is totally relatable and sounds adorable with her vintage style and artsy personality. Oh and NOLAN! YES! He is Sunshine’s new friend who she is drawn to, and for good reason! (wink wink.)

Recommended age:
13+



On to the ratings!

Stars..
0 = None 10 = Tons


THE FEELS:
I haven’t found a book I have connected with this well since I read The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender. I found myself of the verge of tears twice and really felt for, of all characters, the ghost girl! The relationship Sunshine and her mom Kat have is really sweet and very Gilmore Girls-like. Totally loved that. Also, there are the feels stemmed from Nolan and Sunshine’s connection.
7/10

Violence:
There is just a little violence as Sunshine has to face the dark force in her home.
3/10

Sexual content:
None.
0/10

Crude language:
Very little, one or two minor profanities.
1/10

Other elements/comments:
Demons and Ghosts are mentioned, so if you or your child want to read this book and are easily scared then I’d advise you to pick another more cheerful book. But if you or your child is, like me, cool with the creep-factor then go for it! No sexual content and hardly any crude language at all!!

Overall:
I loved this book. I love supernatural things, I'm very drawn to ghost stories and stories involving demons or angels and this book was right up my ally! Really fun and quick read!
9/10

Xoxo

- Sarah

Monday, March 7, 2016

Book Review: The Young World by Chris Weitz

26522993


The Young World by Chris Weitz

Some time ago I saw this book’s cover (the one shown above) somewhere on Instagram and thought, “Whoa, this looks cool.” Then I went to Goodreads and looked it up. I wasn’t letdown by this story at all. Think, The Hunger Games meets The Maze Runner meets The Darkest Minds, although there is no prominent corrupt leader or superpowers.

The Young World focuses on Jefferson and Donna, two teens living in post-apocalyptic New York. The city, USA and possibly the world even, had been hit over a year ago with a sickness that wiped out all children and adults, leaving only the teenagers to fend for themselves. After the death of Jefferson’s brother, he and a group of friends go on a hunt for a journal that may have information that could lead them to finding out what this disease is and may just lead them to finding a cure. It’s a long-shot and they are never sure the book really exists. Along the way they run into some obstacles, including finding love, being hunted by the stuck up, rich, teenage, mafia, and trying to figure out the possibility of having a future beyond dying when you turn eighteen. The group of teens is diverse and funny at times, which I liked. Donna is a sassy girl who is pretty normal, I’d say. Jefferson is your typical lead teen protagonist, who knows loss and battles within himself with love, hope and the pressure of leadership. He is cute and kind! Then there is the odd Brain Box who is mysterious and kind of displays autistic behavior in that he is anti-social and extremely smart, but he isn't the oddity of the group because then we have Peter. The gay, Christian…how that happened, I don’t know seeing as how biblically speaking that lifestyle is an “abomination.” But with that aside Peter was one of the better written characters. Over all I really enjoyed this book, which I listened to on audio so that I could multitask. Lol. The ending was, for me, really epic. I caught myself saying, “ooo! That was good!”


Recommended age:
15+ (due to profane language)


On to the ratings!

Stars..
0 = None 10 = Tons


THE FEELS:
I’ll be honest here and say that lately I haven’t been able to get into any book and really feel the feels. But there were some potentially feely moments. Donna talks about her dead baby brother a lot which was sad. The way she described him and their inter actions were really sweet. There is a bit of a love triangle going on for some of the book and I quickly found myself shipping Donna and Jeff early on!
4/10  

Violence:
There is always violence in Dystopian YA. Always. This book has your typical bloody fights, chase scenes and creepy captors.
6.5/10

Sexual content:
Some kissing. Mild talk about sex and “messing around” one girl provocatively strips and skinny dips in front of guys.
5/10

Crude language:
There are more than one of every profane word used throughout. Including three uses of the religious slur, GD, and multiple uses of the F word.
9/10

Other elements/comments:
*DISCLAIMER: PERSONAL VIEWS AND BIBLICAL VIEWS ARE STATED BELOW AND SHOULD IN NO WAY BE MISCONSTRUED AS HATE OF ANY KIND!!!*

For me, as a follower of Christ, it was slightly difficult for me to take the character Peter seriously. Although he was well written and really funny at times he just threw me off. Being gay and identifying as Christian at the same time is very controversial. Biblically speaking that lifestyle isn't accepted into the Christian religion. But then again it’s fiction and the author probably either just doesn’t know about the conflict between the gay lifestyle choice and Christianity or wanted his book talked about. (Probably the latter.) This is part of the reason I don’t say that I am “Christian” I identify as a follower of Christ because the term “Christian” is used too loosely and diluted by people who don’t know a lot about Christianity or just choose to follow and believe certain things from the religion. Also there is underage drinking and smoking, but there were no adults around to tell them otherwise, so what do you expect? Lol!

Overall:
I really enjoyed the book. I in NO WAY want you as the reader to feel offended by my above statements//comments. I don’t believe in hate and don’t want anyone to take my comments here as such or as anything other than stating a conflicting plot choice, I must say that I found Peter the most interesting of all of the characters. The book was funny and interesting and I really want to read book 2!
6/10
Xoxo
- Sarah

Friday, February 26, 2016

25 Bookish Facts About Me!


Hello!

   So, I was watching a video of Sasha Alsberg on her youtube channel a bit ago and she did this really fun tag where she listed really funny, quirky and interesting facts about herself that all related to BOOKS!! I totally related to several of them! So, I thought I'd post some bookish facts about myself here! I mean, why not?!

25 Bookish Facts, here we go!

1. I am currently supposed to be editing my book! lololol
2. I don't understand when people say the love the smell of books. Some books smell like just plain paper and others smell like straight up vinegar. WHY?!
3. I am a slow reader.
4. I am totally into books with Angels and Demons right now!
5. I like mysteries!
6. My favorite genre is dystopian. 
7. I like fantasy too, though!
8. I am currently "reading" three books.
9. I usually carry a book in my purse, making my giant and already heavy purse feel like I'm carrying a toddler around.
10. I love ebooks.
11. I really enjoy audio books. I like to listen while I multitask. Like when I clean or while I'm being crafty or whatever! 
12. I just started a job at a county Library!
13. My job title is Circulation Clerk. Unfortunately I am not a librarian. :(
14. My all time favorite book is The Magician's Nephew by C.S. Lewis.
15. I like to drink coffee while I read! 
16. While reading the Hunger Games series for the first time I had a box of Red Hots candies on which I snacked. So, now, anything cinnamon reminds me of The Girl Who Was On FIRE!!!!
17. My books on my shelves are arranged in the order in which I read them.
18. My bookish Instagram account is @LiteraryCanary.
19. I don't have a goal set for the year as to how many books I want to read but I do have a pretty long TBR list.
20. Riders by Queen Veronica Rossi, Passengers by Alex Bracken and The Space Trilogy by C.S. Lewis are some of the highest on my TBR list.
21. My favorite book tubers are Sasha Alsberg of abookutopia and Tasha of Tashapolis
22. I have 2 ebook copies of Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout. One on Kindle and one on Play Books! lololol.
23. I totally judge books by their covers. If a book is ugly or tacky I assume the writing is too and look for something prettier. That's mean I know. #shameface 
24. I prefer to read before bed, but sometimes you get a book that's just so good you read all day or all night or both!!!
25. This took me way too long! back to my beta reader's notes on my current writing project!

Feel free to consider yourself tagged and post 25 bookish facts about you on your blog! :)

Thanks for reading!
Sarah







Thursday, February 11, 2016

Book Review: The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton


18166936
The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton

I was told repeatedly by one of my best friends, Ashley, to “read Ava Lavender.” “Read Ava Lavender!” “READ AVA LAVENDER!” and I am beyond glad that I did.

Initially I thought about posting a one-liner review and simply saying, “This book is the single most beautiful work of art I have, and possibly will ever know.” or something like, “Three words come to mind after reading The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender, beautiful, masterpiece and melancholy.” But there is so much to be said about this story that my brain can’t process it all without sounding lovesick. I fell in love with Ava, and her family. Undoubtedly, you would too.

The book is not entirely about Ava, it starts off with the sorrows of her grandmother, Emilienne and her own strange and beautiful life. Her sisters who tear their own hearts out, turn into canaries and a brother who is more beautiful than the girls. Later on Emilienne has a daughter of her own, Vivian, who of course, too has strange and beautiful sorrows, such as heartbreak, which can be one of the most beautiful of sorrows. And then comes Ava. Ava’s ancestors were in fact odd and peculiar what with having a canary as a great aunt and the ghosts of her grandmother’s siblings quietly hanging about the house but never was there one born with wings as Ava was. In this beautiful tell of confinement and freedom, love and loss, I found myself really feeling for the characters and sympathizing with them, happy for them and wanting to avenge them when they weren’t treated fairly. I’d say that author Leslye Walton succeeded in her endeavors as an author quite well. The book was extremely well written and very poetic. For a first time author it seemed like she really knew what she was doing.

Recommended age:
15+



On to the ratings!

Stars..
0 = None 10 = Tons


THE FEELS:
I experienced a lot of emotions while reading this book! I was shipping and hating and loving characters! Haha!
8/10

Violence:
Two scenes in particular stick out for me in this area. They were violent and just horrible. Bodily mutilation.
7/10

Sexual content:
There isn't much, a few times sex is mentioned but never in detail.
5/10

Crude language:
There were curse words used throughout. 2 religious profanities, 1 f-word and one or two of “hell” and “damn”

Other elements/comments:
Suicide is involved in the book as Emilienne’s sister Margaux takes her own live and the ending of the book in unclear if it is some type of metaphor for suicide or literal. If you read the book you'll see what I mean.

Overall:
Over all I fell in love with this book. It’s one of my favorites now and was so beautifully written. The only thing I didn't like was the use of the strong language, which seemed out of place for such a beautiful book.
9/10

Xoxo

- Sarah

Tuesday, January 19, 2016

Book Review: Marked by Kim Richardson

21611451

Marked by Kim Richardson

Marked is about a girl named Kara Nightingale who loves art and just wants to get to her presentation on time and land a scholarship. But what Kara doesn’t see coming is the bus that brings her sudden death and with death comes Horizon. Aka Heaven. Kara finds herself in a whimsical version of Heaven called Horizon where monkeys operate elevators and angels can be pretty hot. In Horizon Kara is pretty forced into getting a job as a GA, aka Guardian Angel. She is given her first assignment from her mega hot petty officer, David, to prevent a certain person from dying. But when they get there they aren’t the only ones. Demons are there too and they want the soul of Kara’s assignment. From here things go downhill. Kara gets more training and keeps going on missions but it seems that there are other, darker, forces following her and she ultimately has to face them.

The writing of this book seemed to me like this was the author's first book. Sometimes it seemed as if the author was just like, hmm what can I put next and just put a random scene in to fill space but in the end it all worked. I feel like Kara's character was developed well. I feel like plot is more important than character development, If a book has a poor plot then the charactersreally don't matter but I think the plot here was pretty good and thought out for the most part!

It’s all kind of hard to explain but I really enjoyed this book and it was FREE on Google Play Books! Yayyy!! More happened in this book than I expected to and I'm glad. I honestly had been planning a while back to write, someday, a story about an angel girl and this was strikingly similar to the plans I made before I even knew this book series existed! #Prophetess lol.   

Recommended age:
13+


On to the ratings!

Stars..
0 = None 10 = Tons


THE FEELS:
The feels I got were when Kara talked about her mother, I really felt bad for the woman even though we never meet her in the book. There are also hints of forbidden romance mixed in too.
5/10

Violence:
There are several fight scenes but none that really stuck with me as too gory or scary.
3/10

Sexual content:
One kiss.
2/10

Crude language:
There were minor curse words used throughout such as “hell” or “ass”
4/10

Other elements/comments:
I didn't really like that the angels seemed so, jerkish and rude, smug even.

Overall:
Over all I liked it enough to buy the second book lol.
6.5/10

Xoxo
- Sarah

Thursday, January 7, 2016

Writing Inspiration and Goals for 2016

kepler186f_artistconcept.jpg
(Concept art from NASA's website. link is at the bottom of this post!)


I've been thinking lately about Kepler-186f, one of the more newly discovered planets out there in a galaxy far, far away, which is comparable to Earth! It is the outermost planet in a solar system of five planets and quite possibly could sustain life!!! Wee!! Anyway in July 2015 I heard about this beautiful discovery and started planning to write a story which involves Kepler-186f (I call it Kep for short!) 

So far in my process of writing I have, what I've been referring to as the Kepler Novella, 32,000+ words. The story is a YA dystopian//sci-fi deal and it needs a lot of work but I'm also fairly happy with where it is going. My goal for this year is to finish this project completely, editing and such and possibly expanding it into a novel. I've never totally finished a manuscript and I just know I can and need to and this one may be THE ONE! Who knows?!

But without giving too much away just yet it is about six convicts who are exiled to Kepler-186f as capital punishment for their crimes.

Today I made a little playlist of songs that fit certain scenes or just have a good vibe for the story, feel free to look them up and give them a listen!!

PLAYLIST
M83 - I Need You
Switchfoot - Lonely Nation
Eisley – Deep Space
Merriment – Two Worlds
Eisley - Lights Out
Rising Fawn – Cedar Branches
Rising Fawn – Wake Up
Aurora – Under Stars
Relient K – Let It All Out
Switchfoot – Stars
Switchfoot – Overthrow
Seera’s Song (Written by me, so ya can't listen because it's not an audible thing.)
All my sister's
With all their bright lights
All my sister's
They're shining so bright

All my sister's
With all their brown eyes

The space ship takes flight
Away into the night
We're on our way now
We're on our way now

My head is on your shoulder
We're growing much older
And when we get there I'll be 23

All my sister's
With all their bright lights
All my sister's
They're shining so bright

All my sister's
With all their brown eyes

we will reunite.

Lorde- A World Alone


Also just for fun educational purposes here is the link to NASA's website where you can learn about Kepler-186f www.nasa.gov/kepler186f <3


Thanks for reading!!!

Xoxo,
Sarah